Updated Somalia Livelihood Zones Map, April 2015

Issued: June 4, 2015

Livelihoods zoning is a kind of economic geography, dividing a country’s population into relatively homogenous areas defined by common characteristics of the economy of households.  Using this approach, Somalia was divided into a number of livelihood zones by the Food Security and Nutrition Analysis Unit (FSNAU). The most recent Somalia Livelihood Zone map developed by FSNAU and in use since 2009 contained 33 Livelihoods Zones (32 rural plus 1 urban). To date, these livelihood zones have served as the basis for and levels at which seasonal assessments food security and nutrition assessments and regular monitoring were being conducted and reported.

However, a reduction in the overall number of Somalia’s 33 livelihood Zones was considered necessary in order to better match existing capacities (in terms of time and resources) while still maintaining a division of the country that reflected the most important local differences between livelihoods. In this spirit, starting in May 2013, FSNAU and FEWS NET have been collaborating on a rezoning of Somalia’s Livelihood Zones. The outcome of the exercise was a revised and updated livelihood zone map for Somalia that has 19 livelihood zones (18 rural plus 1 urban). Prior to finalization, the updated livelihood zone map was discussed with technical government and partner staff in Nairobi, Hargeisa, Garowe and Mogadishu.

We are pleased to announce the publication of the new Somalia Livelihood Zones Map which can be accessed through the following FSNAU website link:


We hope you will find the updated livelihood map informative and useful.

For questions or further clarifications related to the map, you can contact us by sending an email to info@fsnau.org and anur@fews.net